How we assess your application

When you apply for social housing we will first assess if you are eligible. If you are, we will award you points based on your housing need. These points determine your position on the waiting list. 

We award points under four categories:

  1. Whether you are at serious and imminent risk, and need immediate rehousing. We call this intimidation. *
  2. Insecurity of tenure.
  3. Whether you currently live in poor quality housing. This may be due to poor physical conditions, or overcrowding. We refer to this as your housing conditions.
  4. Whether you have mobility issues in your current home, or extra social, support or care needs. We refer to this as health and social wellbeing needs.

* If you’ve been forced to leave, we may be able to help you with the costs of setting up your new home. There's more information available in our leaflet on the Emergency Grant payment (PDF 261 kB).


Your total number of points will decide your position on the waiting list. We will inform you of your points total in writing.

You can read a detailed breakdown of how points are awarded in our points schedule.

The Housing Selection Scheme
Is this page helpful?
Yes No